Rambling about books

Horrorstör, by Grady Hendrix

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Horror, Fiction, Mystery

I don’t watch slasher movies for a reason (for many reasons actually), surely I would not read a sort of slasher book, right? WRONG! So..so..so..WRONG! I picked up this book thinking that this was an ordinary fiction thing; especially looking at the cover, it doesn’t look dangerous, right? WRONG AGAIN! So..so..so..WRONG! On hindsight, those pictures in the frame should be a telltale sign of a book that I SHOULD NOT HAVE PICKED UP IN THE FIRST PLACE. But being the know-it-all that I am, I picked this book anyway.

My second best mistake was the fact that I chose to read this book on a winter break, while I stayed in my dorm room all on my own, with the fact that probably 80% of the people on my floor are out for the holidays. So by the time I realised that this was a horror (or gore, take your pick) book, I could not back down. I mean, I could stop reading the book if I’m so afraid, right? BUT NO, THAT IS NOT WHAT I DID. What I splendidly did was keep on reading and getting more creeped out the more I read the book, while I keep on asking myself “Why am I doing this to myself?

Anyway, despite of the horror, the gore, the slasher, the whatever creepy thing coming from this book, I have to say that I love this book. Surprisingly love this book, if I may say so. I spent the better first half of the book cursing myself for picking this book, but then I just could not put it down. I was enchanted by this book and its characters. OH FOR GOD SAKE, I WOULD BE MORE THAN HAPPY TO SLAP AMY (the main character of the book) IN THE FACE, because she is this annoying brat that seems to always jump into conclusion and hate other people for no important reason. UGH! But, then you get to see her character develop in the blink of an eye, and though she is still not my favourite person, I don’t hate her as much as I hate her before.

I gotta tell you, this book is creepy FOR SURE. Well maybe not Goosebump creepy, but creepy and sick nonetheless. I could not even stop my feet from shaking as I read the last four chapters of the book. I love it! I just love this book so much! Very interesting! And it really puts my view on job, work, and career into perspective. It made me think twice about those things.

I have to say that I might think twice when someone asks me to go to IKEA. Gosh dang it, I am so scared about it. Especially since I just came back from IKEA five days before I read this book, and I remember how freaking crowded IKEA was (noted that it was just a week after the first IKEA was open in South Korea, so probably that’s why it was jammed packed with humans), and how easily it was for me to get lost in the sea of humans. Thinking back about that possibility after reading this book just gives me the goosebumps. Oh good GOD! I really won’t be going back to IKEA any time soon. I kid you not.

Word of advice, if you are one of those really annoying hipster who goes to IKEA thinking that it’s the only shop that sells good furnitures, then I don’t suggest you to read this book; not only would you be scared out of your mind, you might not want to go back to IKEA, FOREVER.

Leave a Reply

