Rambling about books

The Romanov Sisters: The Lost Lives of the Daughters of Nicholas and Alexandra, by Helen Rappaport

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: History, Nonfiction, Biography

AMAZING! I simply can’t put this book once I start reading it. I love the way the author is telling the story, it seemed so flawless and beautiful. It almost felt as if I was reading a novel instead of a biography. I like the fact that the author sticks to its original plan, which is to tell the stories about the four Romanov sisters; bringing the reader closer to these royal siblings that was taken from this world in such a tragic way.

There are many moments where I really felt like I’m on an edge, especially the last part of the book, as the Romanov are being held in Tobolsk and then moved; you already knew what was going to happen to them, but you can’t help but wished that by some miracle it won’t end like how history has been written.

What I love most about this book is that it really does cover all four sisters equally; for an ignorant person like me who are only aware of Anastasia (thanks to Disney), it was such a nice surprise to know that the other siblings are as (if not more) interesting as Anastasia. I have a special interest now on Olga as the eldest sibling, how just a couple of years before her doom fate, almost everyone was talking about her prospective husband and then life was just taken away from her.

This book really help me see the Romanov as a simple daily-like family, instead of a royal family would be. I can’t help but pitied their gruesome end in life. I kept on thinking that whatever had happened to them was simply the game of badly timed fate playing tricks on them; but I also can’t help their but be proud of their sense of nationalism and love for Russia as their motherland. Even at the brink of uncertainties of their future as they were under house arrest, they still refuse the idea of being rescued if it means to leave Russia. Even at the very last months of their life, Nicholas and Alexandra still prays for their beloved country.

Leave a Reply

