Rambling about books

Under the Paw: Confessions of a Cat Man, by Tom Cox

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Animals, Humour, Non fiction, Memoir, Biography

**spoiler alert**

I remember picking this book up after I finished A Street Cat Named Bob by James Bowen. I have always been a cat lover (technically it started when I was in Junior High School, meeting my first pet cat ever, Timmy, may she rest in peace), but it was rare to me to actually found a book about a cat written by a male author (not that it was literally rare, it was rare to me only), so to actually be lucky enough to found these two books, I was elated.

Surprisingly, I didn’t like this book easily as I have like James Bowen’s book; at times I felt like the author was using a very complicated words and I find it very distracting to actually stop once in a while to go through my dictionary to understand the said words. But, as the author recalls the lost of his first cat, Monty, I was hooked. You can feel his pain and it was not long until I had water in my eyes recalling the death of Timmy. The lost of your first cat is a pain that will never fade, no matter how long it has been; it was liberating to actually read someone share his deep pain in retelling the story of the lost of his first cat.

What’s so amazing about Tom Cox is that you can tell that at times he seems a bit mad when it comes to cat, but it’s nothing strange if you are a cat lover yourself or you’ve met one like them; Tom Cox also loves all his cat equally it seems impossible. I once had the privilege of owning 12 cats, and I can assure you, there is no way you would not pick favourites, but not with Tom. He literally loves all his cats equally, even the one that he can’t be in possession with. I’m talking about Raffles, and from Tom’s description I can totally understand how he would want to have Raffles, because I would want Raffles too, but he couldn’t and the thought of taking Raffles back to the shelter broke him so much (make that two, Tom, for I am broken too).

During my experience with this book, I took the time to browse Tom’s website and acquaintance myself with all of his cats, and now that I can put a picture to every single one them (I have to say The Bear and Shipley is easily my favourites), reading the rest of the book was easier because now I can imagine all the misfits that they did and thanks to Tom’s descriptive words (by now, I am already accustomed to stop once in a while to check my dictionary for words that I don’t understand), I felt like I had known all of his cats personally.

Leave a Reply

