Rambling about books

The Moaning of Life: The Worldly Wisdom of Karl Pilkington, by Karl Pilkington

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Nonfiction, Humour, Travel

I have been an avid fan of Karl Pilkington since the first time I saw him with Ricky Gervais and Stephen Merchant on TV. He’s a simpleton and exactly because of that, whatever the hell he says made so much sense to me; no pretense whatsoever, just cold hard truth.

I’m really glad that I get to read this book during my stay in a foreign country, far from my family and close friends. This year was going to be my sabbatical year; I hope that when I got back to my home country by the end of 2015, I would be a much better person. Lo and behold, this book had helped me halfway. This book covers general mundane topics about life, but might be important for people of my age (or probably just me). The first few chapters really struck me hard as Karl explore topics about marriage and children. This has been in the back of my mind since I started my sabbatical year, would I get married and have kids after all of these mumbo jumbo? Though, I still haven’t had the answers to that, the things that Karl said in this book had helped me understand more about the possibilities of my choices later on.

The thing about this book is that you don’t really expect it to be sort of self-help book, and I’m pretty sure Karl never intends it to be so, yet because he was such a simple man, all the things that he said was the things that people tend to overlook and cause them to lost the meaning of life. Seriously, this would be a great gift for those of you who are going through a quarter life crisis (granted, I past my quarter life crisis two years ago, but this still is very relevant). Seriously recommending this book to all my peers, especially to those who are struggling with life in general.

Leave a Reply

