Rambling about books

The Magician’s Nephew, by C. S. Lewis

Rating: ⭐️⭐️

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Classics, Children’s, Young Adult

A couple of months back, I return to my younger years’ obsession, The Chronicles of Narnia. There have been more than one occasion where I neglect my adult responsibilities for watching The Chronicles of Narnia series, scrolling through the fandom on tumblr, and it ended with me getting on my grubby hands on the collector’s edition box set. So, after finishing all my other TBR before the series (while also submitting all my Summer paper), I can finally start reading the book. Now, here’s the thing, the last time I read this book was when I was still somewhere around Junior High School and it was in Bahasa, so at 27 and re-reading this book again in English was like reading it for the first time.

I was disappointed for two main reasons with this book; first, I was kind of expecting there was some adventure in this book and there wasn’t, and two, I don’t see why Digory’s mum needs to be saved, I understand that it gave a very nice background story for how the wardrobe came to existence, but I thought it would make a better story had Digory’s mum cannot be saved. So, yeah, this was not my favourite book in the series, somehow I felt bad for saying that.

Although this was not the first book of the series based on its publication sequence but in terms of Narnia history this would be the first book and later on Lewis himself said that maybe we could start with this book  first. I was kind of disappointed that for a first book in this magical series, I didn’t get a glimpse on the rules that were mentioned by Jadis in LWW; please tell me, I’m not the only one who wants to know about this.

As for the characters, I can’t really say the characters in this book was memorable except for Aslan. Digory and Polly felt quite lame, although Polly was a bit more interesting in personality compared to that of Digory. I have to say I didn’t quite enjoy this book as much as I thought I would.  I am more disappointed with the fact that I didn’t enjoy this book rather than disappointed by the book, it’s as if I felt that I didn’t do this book justice by being a good reader.

Leave a Reply

