Rambling about books

The Silver Chair, by C. S. Lewis

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Children’s, Classics, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

I’m going to be honest about the two books in the series that I read before The Silver Chair (Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader), it was not in any way satisfactory, so I thought that The Silver Chair was not going to be any better knowing that there would be no Pevensie children in this book. But, boy, was I very very very wrong.

Hands down, this was the best book in the series for me, or at least on par with The Horse and His Boy. I was automatically hooked from the first chapter. There was something about the opening of this book that has this sort of premonition that you are about to embark in an adventure of a lifetime, and I might even say that The Silver Chair has the best opening in all the books in the series.

What was also worth noting was Eustace and Jill’s interaction with each other, it was very refreshing, something that I never saw between any of the Pevensie children. It might be so as the two did not start off as friends first when they had their adventure in Narnia, but that is exactly what made their adventure great because it’s the building of friendship and trust that grows along the adventure.

Afterwards, we were introduced to my newly favourite character, Puddleglum. The fact that Puddlegum had become my favourite character in The Silver Chair came with a realisation that Lewis seems to be doing a splendid job when it comes to his Narnian characters compared to his English characters. Put it this way, between all of his characters that came from England, they all look pretty bland and indistinguishable between one and another, but when it comes to his Narnian characters, they are so diverse and amazing. And these are not only from the physical description but also from the way they converse and communicate.

I’m pretty bummed that this book did not get adapted as this was one had the greatest adventure in all the books in the series. Everything in this book is fast paced, and full of secrets and mysteries, something that I rarely get from the other books. If ever this book was made into a movie, I really hope they would not change much, because this book is LITERALLY the best in the series and it’s already full with ‘movie material’ that could keep you at the edge of your seat.

I wished that more people read this book, as this was the book that redeemed what Prince Caspian and The Voyage of the Dawn Treader lacks (in my honest opinion). The Silver Chair really brought back my belief and love for The Chronicles of Narnia.

Leave a Reply

