The Last Battle, by C. S. Lewis

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Genre: Children’s, Classics, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

And so here I am, on the last book of my Narnia adventure. Honest to God, I am struggling to even start this book. What if I don’t even like it? I mean, I just had a good time with The Silver Chair, something that I least expected. What if The Last Battle ruined it for me? What if the execution as the last book was so awful, I might even despise it? Or, what if I got depressed when I finished reading this book?

Eventually, I just start reading the book anyway. There was no point in postponing it anymore. Story wise, I found that The Last Battle was better than previous books (not counting The Horse and His Boy and The Silver Chair, as those two was my favourite and the best ones). There was a different flow with this book that just keeps getting you hooked. You were led to keep on getting curious as to how and where this story will end. Despite it all, I swear I just want to whip some good sense to King Tirian’s head. Compared to King Rilian, King Tirian definitely looked a lot like a dimwit. King Rilian’s dimwit attitude was forgiven as he was enchanted for ten years, but King Tirian?? Ugh!

Just like The Silver Chair, I think The Last Battle deserves a movie adaptation. I mean, everyone in the Narnia fandom at least deserves that much. Not to mention that both book actually has the complete material to be made into a movie adaptation, especially the story line that just keeps you on the edge of your seat.

Now, I have seen a couple of reviews about this book where people actually gives a one star review because Lewis was being a racist in this book; much like what he did in The Horse and His Boy. The thing is, once you overlook it, you can start appreciating the story, which in my opinion has a better quality compared to the other books in the series. I’m not merely saying that we need to overlook some of the racist remarks that were mentioned in the book, but we need to understand that others would look at the others as the bad guy, much like the Calormenes themselves see Narnia as a savage land without proper constitution, that is also how the Narnian sees Calormene as a land of savages and smelly people. But, hey, I’m not here to debate about it all; at the end of the day, to each their own.

I was a bit reluctant about finishing this book late at night, as I was worried I might get a bit depressed about its ending. Surprisingly, I felt warm at heart. I felt that it was a good ending and a good closure to all the adventures that had happened when I picked the first book in the Narnia series. For all its worth, I will always love Narnia and I am still looking for my own Narnia.

Leave a Reply

