Rambling about books

Book review: Psych 101: Psychology Facts, Basics, Statistics, Tests, and More!, by Paul Kleinman

Source: https://d.gr-assets.com/books/1386125483l/19168054.jpg

Rating:⭐️⭐️

Title: Psych 101:Psychology Facts, Basics, Statistics, Tests, and More!

Author: Paul Kleinman

Goodreads links

Genre: Psychology, Nonfiction

Style:

It was interesting the first time, I feel like I am attending this fun beginners class on psychology. But then it gets repetitive and it’s like having to listen to a boring old Professor that continuously talks and talks and talks and it seemed that it goes on forever. The thing is, the author uses the same formula for the whole entire book! I don’t know if it was intentional or what, but it definitely was a wrong decision. It’s just series of names, and informations, or series of theories and information; just like that for the whole entire book. I can’t, for the life of me, enjoy this book, and this came as a revelation to me halfway through the book. I was really fighting hard to keep on reading and finishing it. The thing is, I know that if ever I managed to finish it I was not going to get anything out of it (I was just too dead bored by then), so I end up speed reading and skimming the book altogether, and it ain’t fun, let me tell you that.

Did I enjoy it?

Honestly, no. I did not enjoy this at all. This is literally like reading a textbook and you’re really trying to cram it in one night for a big test tomorrow. I am also deeply disappointed by the so-called “tests” in this book. Yes, there were tests, many of those actually. But, the author was just explaining how to conduct the test, it didn’t even try to explain how the tests could help one figure out the results. What’s the whole point of it, then? Unless I am in any way trained in psychology (or have been taking psychology class), none of the tests have any significance whatsoever to me.

Recommend?

I don’t know to whom I should recommend this book. If I have to recommend this to an untrained person in psychology,  most probably they would feel the same way as I do; if I were to recommend this to a psychology major, most probably they would laugh at me as this might be a way too basic of an information for them.


Don’t get me wrong, even though I only gave this book a two star and a whole lot of complaint following the rating, I don’t necessarily think this was a bad book, it’s just not my cup of tea. But, there are some interesting part, for me especially was Karen Horney’s theory of neuroses; thanks to this book I might look more into the theory as that could explain some of the neurotic behaviour shown by some of my friends and acquaintances. So, it’s not all bad, right? And, in a way, I did learn something from this book. I hope by knowing how some of these big names in psychology sees one’s personality developing and the whatnots, it can help me prepare better if ever I had my own offspring in the future.

7 thoughts on “Book review: Psych 101: Psychology Facts, Basics, Statistics, Tests, and More!, by Paul Kleinman”

  1. I am a forensic psychologist myself and I remember reading this years ago now. I remember thinking that it is definitely a beginners guide and not for people who need more detail. It is definitely perfect for beginners though! (:

    Like

    1. Wow! You’re a forensic psychologist? And a book lover (I checked your blog, hope that doesn’t seem like a freak 😬)? You are most definitely very cool! And thank you for liking my review and commenting it; on hindsight the book was definitely aimed for beginners but I am still a bit bummed that I get so little from reading this book, was kind of hoping more. 😬 Thank you for stopping by my blog.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi. I would like to ask…what exactly is psych 101? Is a book…. is a single book? Or are other one…pls leave reply

    Like

    1. Hi. I think this was meant as an introduction for basic psychology, but I myself am only a regular reader, meaning that if you’re looking for a more substantial books on Psychology, I don’t think I can give you any recommendation. In regards to this book, I think this was a single book, intended only for an introduction.

      Like

      1. ok…..so thank you very much..is good to me to have some information….
        good day

        Like

Leave a Reply

