Uncategorized

Accidentally Judgemental: Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined, by Stephenie Meyer

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/26874617-life-and-death

Title: Life and Death: Twilight Reimagined

Author: Stephenie Meyer

My guess:

I guess this would not be a legit accidentally judgemental moment, because I’ve been hearing/reading/seeing many things regarding this book. This should not surprise me anymore. And even if I haven’t heard anything about this book, the title is already a giveaway about what the book is about, right? But, I’ll try to overlook the title and just focus on the cover as I embark on book cover judging session. Okay, here goes..

If I should judge this book based on the picture only, my first reaction would be, ‘is this some carbon copy of twilight? is someone trying to copy twilight? is this a fanfiction work twilight? but there’s already Fifty Shades of Grey, right?’ Judging from those questions, most probably I would just look away from the book. Besides Twilight’s original book cover was better than this, it has a much more artistic feature than this one (not that I am in any way an expert in art or anything artistic).

What it’s actually about:

CELEBRATE THE TENTH ANNIVERSARY OF TWILIGHT! THIS SPECIAL DOUBLE-FEATURE BOOK INCLUDES THE CLASSIC NOVEL, TWILIGHT, AND A BOLD AND SURPRISING REIMAGINING, LIFE AND DEATH, BY STEPHENIE MEYER.
PACKAGED AS AN OVERSIZE, JACKETED HARDCOVER “FLIP BOOK,” THIS EDITION FEATURES NEARLY 400 PAGES OF NEW CONTENT AS WELL AS EXQUISITE NEW BACK COVER ART. READERS WILL RELISH EXPERIENCING THE DEEPLY ROMANTIC AND EXTRAORDINARILY SUSPENSEFUL LOVE STORY OF BELLA AND EDWARD THROUGH FRESH EYES.
TWILIGHT HAS ENRAPTURED MILLIONS OF READERS SINCE ITS FIRST PUBLICATION IN 2005 AND HAS BECOME A MODERN CLASSIC, REDEFINING GENRES WITHIN YOUNG ADULT LITERATURE AND INSPIRING A PHENOMENON THAT HAS HAD READERS YEARNING FOR MORE. THE NOVEL WAS A #1 NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER, A #1 USA TODAY BESTSELLER, A TIME MAGAZINE BEST YOUNG ADULT BOOK OF ALL TIME, AN NPR BEST-EVER TEEN NOVEL, AND A NEW YORK TIMES EDITOR’S CHOICE. THE TWILIGHT SAGA, WHICH ALSO INCLUDES NEW MOON, ECLIPSE, BREAKING DAWN, THE SHORT SECOND LIFE OF BREE TANNER: AN ECLIPSE NOVELLA, AND THE TWILIGHT SAGA: THE OFFICIAL ILLUSTRATED GUIDE, HAS SOLD NEARLY 155 MILLION COPIES WORLDWIDE. (SOURCE: GOODREADS)

My verdict:

Okay, basically the summary in goodreads doesn’t really give you the very essence of this book, but surely anyone with an internet connection would already know what this book is about, right? First time I heard about it, I laugh hysterically. I could not even comprehend why would Stephenie Meyer attempt at doing this. I seriously could not understand her motive whatsoever. But then I stumble upon an article in Buzzfeed where the person who wrote it had read the new Twilight book and therefore we don’t have to do it again. The thing is though, everything that was mentioned in the article made me, more than ever, want to read the book. I’ve read the first Twilight book (which is the only Twilight book in the series that I managed to read completely) and I have to say I do not enjoy it at all. There was nothing in the book that interests me, but this reimagined? Oh yeah, I am so on board with it. I will definitely give this book a chance, even with the possibility that I might be disappointed anyway.

Leave a Reply

