Uncategorized

Accidentally Judgemental: These Shallow Graves, by Jennifer Donnelly

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24187925-these-shallow-graves

Okay, first off, let me say that I totally forgot to do an Accidentally Judgmental yesterday. I totally went bonkers yesterday when the cargo shipping company called me to deliver the box that I ordered, and then I just went mental with trying to pack some of my stuff. And when I realise that I got too many plaid shirts to last me a lifetime and tons (not literally, I was just trying to be dramatic) of books to pack in a single box, I start to panic. Like, how am I suppose to pack these bloody stuffs? Seriously, how? Then, I got an email from Uni to remind me that thesis is due on 16 November 2015! What the actual f? That leaves me 23 days to finish the bloody thing! How am I going to do that?

My guess:

Okay, enough about my problem and let’s just do this Accidentally Judgmental. Right off the bat is the title; it’s a dead giveaway that this might be a story about ghosts or those scary stuff that I would never willingly read. But, then there’s that tagline, ‘be careful how deep you bury the past‘. Hmm, is this like actually about drama story about someone trying to find some hidden family secret or what have you? Also not my cup of tea actually. Then again, surprisingly the cover is very interesting. Had I seen this in a bookstore, I would have been very intrigued to see. Well, to be completely honest, the roses are a bit tacky, but maybe that’s just me, because I don’t really roses in the first place. Just let me put it this way, I have no idea what this book is about; the cover is confusing as f to me, but I can be definitely sure that I might not be interested in reading this book.

What it’s actually about:

Set in gilded age New York, These Shallow Graves follows the story of Josephine Montfort, an American aristocrat. Jo lives a life of old-money ease. Not much is expected of her other than to look good and marry well. But when her father dies due to an accidental gunshot, the gilding on Jo’s world starts to tarnish. With the help of a handsome and brash reporter, and a young medical student who moonlights in the city morgue, Jo uncovers the truth behind her father’s death and learns that if you’re going to bury the past, you’d better bury it deep.

Goodreads link

My verdict:

Well, I’ll be damned! Turns out my guess based on the tagline is not that far off, and I surely be twice damn because now I am interested to read this book. Not for the plot though, because to be honest there’s something that just doesn’t trigger my interest; the setting is what interest me the most. I had a peek on its first pages from Amazon and I can assure you that the first chapter is pretty interesting; it’s good enough to make me want to read more.

Leave a Reply

