things you may not want to know but i'm telling you anyway

A story you didn’t ask for but I’m telling you anyway.

In response to The Daily Post’s writing prompt: “Million-Dollar Question.”

Once upon a time in a land where there is only hot and humid and everything in between, there lives a girl who thinks she can write the best of story that others would have the privilege to read while they are still alive. The thing with that belief is that, it is only a false reality that the girl construct on herself. Little did she know that not only she is not a gifted writer, she could not save herself with writing even if her life depends on it. So she stop writing altogether. The end.

Or so we thought.

 

Well, it’s half true though. I did not write again until I was 24 years old, but I wasn’t that committed to  writing at that time, it was more of a spark here and there. I dedicated myself to reading because it was a nice escape from all the responsibilities that an early 20s is bestowed upon. The thing with me and reading is that I tend to be a book snob at times. I like to think my choice in books are very singular and different from others (who am I kidding? Myself apparently).

So in an attempt to be an all out book snob, I built a tumblr solely dedicated for my book reviews when I was 24 years old, but it was about a year and a half later that I took upon it seriously. And so began my attempt on writing, albeit only specifically on book reviews. Then four months before I turned 27, I thought I want to expand myself (I don’t even know what I meant when I said type that). Then I start posting the exact same book reviews on my WordPress. Starting about two months ago, I began to write some other stuffs other than book reviews; I even tried to venture on fiction writing, albeit unsuccessfully.

Well, why do I blog, then? I guess I want to vent the many thoughts I have in my head, although I don’t always do it coherently. It’s also a nice thought to be able to go back in time and see how much you change, especially when your many attempts in keeping a journal failed magnificently each year. So, there you have it. I blog because I can.

Also, who’s going to stop me? My mum?

Please be aware that if you ever know me in real life, I almost always say the above sentence anytime someone asked me why I do stuff or if people are trying to stop me from eating the many junk food I like to binge eat. So, that’s sort of my thing and in no way I meant to be impolite of my mum.
Leave a Reply

