Uncategorized

Accidentally judgemental: Troublemaker: Surviving Hollywood and Scientology, by Leah Remini

I forgot to do another Accidentally judgemental (again!). Blame it on my ICJ presentation, my thesis defence, and my lack of priorities. Heads up! I will have my thesis defence this Thursday, so if ever by accident you have stumbled upon this post, I would really appreciate it if you can wish me a huge of luck and smartness to survive the defence. Thanks in advance.

Now, without further ado, here’s to me judging books based on its cover only.

My guess:

Obviously I would never picked this book up if ever I saw it in a bookstore. A book with someone’s face plastered on it (not to mention that it takes the whole entire cover) is something that screams ‘read me, read me, read me‘; most of the time, books like that are a disaster waiting to happen. Not only that the cover is not interesting on so many levels because of the photo itself, the font is obviously felt too bland. Nothing about this book screams interesting, not even the title (especially the title!).

What the book is actually about:

The outspoken actress, talk show host, and reality television star offers up a no-holds-barred memoir, including an eye-opening insider account of her tumultuous and heart-wrenching thirty-year-plus association with the Church of Scientology.

Goodreads link

My verdict:

I sort of cheat on this book, because I’ve heard about this book sometime ago and it does intrigue me because of how Leah Remini (allegedly) openly undress some of the biggest names in Hollywood who happens to be a member of the Scientology church. So, although the cover is a huge pass for me, I would have give this book a try.


Very sorry for this lazy attempt at posting this accidentally judgemental; on my defence I just have so many things that I must be doing right now, but also at the same time, I kind of felt bad about neglecting this blog for awhile because my other life is taking its toll on me. Ugh! I promise I will do better after my thesis defence, not to mention I still haven’t been able to read my book.

Leave a Reply

