things you may not want to know but i'm telling you anyway

In totally unrelated news.

My mum says that I need to learn how to be grateful. But, the thing is, I am grateful. I don’t say it as often as I complain about life, but I am grateful. Or so I think.

Am I as grateful as I think I am? I’m not so sure now. I guess I’m not. But, once I took a step back, maybe then I can see that there are many things that I have missed in life that I should be grateful for but had not had the chance to do so.

Today is definitely one of those days where I think I function quite well as an adult. I made a list of the things I should be grateful for, because today has been one of the best day I have had so far (that I am graceful enough to remember).


 

The Sims expansion pack Get to Work for Sims 4 went on a sale at midnight.

Do you know what that means? It means I can download the expansion pack at half the price. That is beyond awesome. I have been using my credit card for basically just buying games and musics, but now I can at least feel a tad bit better because I bought something on sale.

Finally my Professor replied my email and is willing to meet me for my thesis defence today.

The thing is I’m suppose to have my thesis defence on Thursday of last week, but for some reason, two of the Professors were not able to come on my defence, so I had to schedule my defence separately with them. It is absolutely the worst, because (1) you have to compose the godforsaken email to a professor you don’t even know and (2) you’ll have three times the pressure to present your thesis. Simply put, I manage to meet one of the professors last Tuesday and spent ONE HOUR defending my thesis. ONE WHOLE HOUR! Ugh, it was the worst. The problem then was the last remaining professor had not yet replied my email, but thankfully he replied it this morning and request that I come to his office at 13.00. Put it this way, I nailed the defence.

I successfully dodged the broken washing and drying machine today.

Okay, this might seem like a trivial thing to most people, but this is an important thing for me. Thursday is my laundry day and I hate it if I accidentally used a broken washing and/or drying machine. That means I could have waste 1-2 hours waiting for my laundry that is probably not being washed and/or dried properly because I had used the broken one. Oh, you wonder how I could be stupid enough to used the broken one? Well, that’s because there are no signs/information/news that says which machines are broken, and even if there is, everything is written in Korean, and I obviously don’t speak enough Korean to know what it means.

I got my Moleskine book journal on the mail today!

Now this is a major thing, because I’m really planning on taking proper notes of all the books I will be reading next year and now that I have a sleek Moleskine book journal to do so is such an added bonus. By the way, it has my name printed on the cover, which is just super cool.

The first snowfall this year!

Well, technically it’s not the first snowfall this year because apparently the first one was yesterday at about 22.00, which of course I did not noticed. So, I’m just going to assume today is the first snowfall this year. It was so cool and cold and I decided to walk around the campus, because why not, right? Maybe not, but when have I ever been known for my good idea?

At the end of the day, I finished my thesis and its defence.

Despite the fact that I had to do three separate defence (it made it seem like I just couldn’t get enough of defending my thesis), I nailed it and for what it’s worth, I am done with it all. Good God, I don’t know that writing and defending your thesis can be so soul-consuming. I am glad it is all over (well technically I still have to submit my revision, but we’ll get back to that later, much much much later).


So, I want to take a moment to be grateful for all the nice things that had happened today. I still have a long way to go, but until then, I am going to bask in the glory that is today… and also by enjoying my Sims 4 expansion pack. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

