Rambling about books

Book review: In Some Other World, Maybe by Shari Goldhagen

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/22572534-in-some-other-world-maybe

I remember my friend sort of recommend this book to me; she was not entirely recommending it to me like she’s insist it upon me to read the book. She sort of mentioned that she was reading this book and that it was a nice read so far, and so I thought maybe I should gave it a go. I went to Goodreads and I have to say the synopsis is very intriguing, but did it end up being as intriguing as it was in the beginning?

First off, I like the fact that the stories in this book seem to be so relatable. You know how some book, although advertising how simplistic it is, you can just tell that the off chances that what had happened in the book to happened in real life is close to none, well unless your life is a make-believe movie. Everything about this book seems like it could have happened to any number of people that you passed through everyday, and that is exactly what made me fell so in love with the book. Even the characters, with all their flaws and wrong undoing, are very relatable. You would hate some of the incredibly stupid things they did, but you can’t really condemned them for it, because it could easily been you who did those incredibly stupid things, and you can relate to that and that what makes me keep on going with this book, even with the premonition that I’m not going to like the book’s ending.

I have to say that some of the evens that occurred in the book are somewhat predictable, but I can’t get over the fact at how small the world in which the characters are living. I mean, what are the chances that you would meet up with a guy that used to date you ex-boyfriend’s sister? I mean, CMIIW, but the United States of America should be so freaking humongous, right? So, what are the off chances that these people seem to be connected somehow? I know this is a work of fiction, and in a fictional world anything could happen, but really? That small? I’m beginning to not like the book as much as I did the first time. It annoys me to no end that everything seems to be working out to conveniently for some of the characters. And then, there’s this issue of me blurting out questions like, “where is this going?” or “is this story going somewhere?” or “seriously though, who is the main character in this book?” or “ no, seriously, what is going on with this book?” or “can somebody help me understand this book?”

Having said that, I’m not saying that the stories are illogical, it’s just that halfway through the book you start to question where is the plot going? In the beginning you’d think that the story would revolves with Adam, and yes at some point it was revolving around him, alternately with Phoebe also; then you asked yourself, what were to happened to Sharon? You thought she was one of the main characters in the book, but it seems that she became an add-on to someone else’s story. And then, somewhere in the book you got confused with Oliver’s storyline as the author starts addressing Oliver’s storyline with “you”, as if it’s your own storyline. Wait, does that make Oliver one of the main character as well?

I like to think that the main plot of the story is how in some other world, the same events could unfurl to different ways because it is the alternate universe of where you are right now, but obviously seeing that this is not science fiction of any sorts, the idea that there could have been an alternate universe in which things could have turned out differently is something impossible, therefore what is the point of the story though? Apart from how disappointed I was with the fact that I can’t seem to take something out of this book, I have to say the author did an amazing job in creating her characters. Every single one of them left a huge mark on me, as I was reading their stories, how some ended up happily and some didn’t. It was an incredible journey reading through the characters’ adventures, however confusing it was for me at some parts.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️

Title: In Some Other World, Maybe

Author: Shari Goldhagen

Genre: Fiction, Contemporary, Young Adult

Goodreads link

 

Leave a Reply

