Rambling about books

Book review: The Glittering World, by Robert Levy

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/24883858-the-glittering-world

When up-and-coming chef Michael “Blue” Whitley returns with three friends to the remote Canadian community of his birth, it appears to be the perfect getaway from New York. He soon discovers, however, that everything he thought he knew about himself is a carefully orchestrated lie. Though he had no recollection of the event, as a young boy Blue and another child went missing for weeks in the idyllic, mysterious woods of Starling Cove. Soon thereafter, his mother suddenly fled with him to America, their homeland left behind.

But then Blue begins to remember. And once the shocking truth starts bleeding back into his life, his closest friends—Elisa, his former partner in crime; her stalwart husband, Jason; and Gabe, Blue’s young and admiring co-worker—must unravel the secrets of Starling Cove and the artists’ colony it once harbored. All four will face their troubled pasts, their most private demons, and a mysterious race of beings that inhabits the land, spoken of by the locals only as the Other Kind… (Goodreads synopsis)

Oh good God! I am definitely cursing myself for choosing this book as the first book in 2016; this was definitely a wrong choice. Everything about this book screams wrong! One, how in God’s name could someone ever had the nerve to mention that there was even a glint of Neil Gaiman in this book, because let me tell you something, THIS IS SO VERY FAR FROM NEIL GAIMAN! I am proper pissed at how I was tricked to believe that this was going to be a nice read because it’s not, at all. Two, the narration is just so freaking tiring! The words just kept on coming and going and coming and going and it never stops, and then you’re left wondering, “whatever the hell was that?”

The thing that bugs me the most is that this book actually had a promising premise. It was interesting for the first four chapters, although I can already feel it at the tip of my tongue that it was the most tiring four chapters I have ever read so far in 2016 (I know, it’s a bit premature seeing that it’s only been two days since 2016). I get that this was suppose to be a fantasy kind of story but, good LORD!! This does not feel like a fantasy, safe for the fact that there’s this creature called the Other Kind. Oh, speaking about the Other Kind, why do I get the feeling that the author was darn lazy about describing the Other Kind, who supposedly is an important element to the story?

Oh, and don’t get me started with the characters in the book. Supposedly this guy called Blue is the main character of the story, right? But, no! He was only present for the first four chapters and then he was there no more, only to show up in memories of his friends and/or some weird appearances here and there. And then there’s this other character called Elisa who, for the life of me, I would be more than happy to hack from the first chapter. Seriously, her presence is just annoying and frivolous and pointless.

Of all the characters in the book, I felt nothing except for Gabe. For some reason, even from the very beginning I was very intrigued at Gabe’s character and I’m very disappointed that there were many loopholes about Gabe that were not addressed even as the book ends. Look, I’m just going to be honest, I don’t know what else to say about this book except that I am most definitely not going to be recommending this to anyone. This book annoys me to no end; from the storyline, the narration, the characters (except for Gabe and Jason to some extent), the conversations between the characters, and just generally everything! Okay, I hate the book but there are some parts that sort of felt promising at the beginning, like when Blue tries to remembers about his past and what had happened in the Colony when Blue was still a kid, but it went down the drain because I felt like everything about the book is just so lazy! I felt like I had waste a whole entire day for nothing. The only reason it didn’t took me that much time to finish the book was because I brought it with me to my family gathering and obviously reading a book is better than interacting with my family member.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️/5

Title: The Glittering World

Author: Robert Levy

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Mystery, Thriller, Adult

Goodreads link

 

2 thoughts on “Book review: The Glittering World, by Robert Levy”

Leave a Reply

