Rambling about books

Book review: Mosquitoland, by David Arnold

Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/25074141-mosquitoland

After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the “wastelands” of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane. (Goodreads synopsis)


Now this definitely vindicate my horrible experience with The Glittering World as my first book in 2016, I should have read this one instead, but then again on my defence I technically read The Glittering World in 2015, it’s just that I finished it in 2016, but whatever I’m not here to talk about that. I’m here to talk about the amazing book that is Mosquitoland. Honestly, I didn’t expect this book to be this much fun, but it did and that’s why I am beyond excited to share this at right about now.

Mim’s adventure going to Cleveland is definitely the fruit of my nightmare; every single thing that had happened to her (safe for the awesome adventure that Mim had with her newfound family) is nothing if not crazy (and not the good kind of crazy), but it definitely make for a great story, some is definitely interesting but some is definitely just too crazy, even for me. The highlight of the story is definitely our main character, Mim. It really helps that she’s a sarcastic and a smartypants, and that’s just my kind of girl.

If I have to be completely honest, the premise of the story is a common one; an angsty teenage girl runaway from home to come to his/her mum/dad because they don’t like living with the other set of the parents. The road trip that he/she took will be nothing if not wrong and full of problems, only for her/him to form an awesome friendship along the way. Then when she/he reached her/his destination, they’re just going to be disappointed by what they found, be it that their other set of parents that are not interested in them or for other reasons. So, now you know why I didn’t expect to like this book, right? Thankfully, the fast paced and the witty voice of our heroine made the story felt incredibly fresh and enjoyable. I could totally be friends with Mim in real life, but I get the feeling she wouldn’t want to be my friend though.

Oh one thing that nags me, Beckett van Buren? That does not sound like a real name at all. But, it’s not important, because he seems to be a cool person so I’ll give it a pass. And at the end of the day, I wished for a good ending for Walt. And, yes please, do give this book a try even if coming of age stories is not your thing; you can at least give this book a go for its misadventures and the impeccable Mim Malone that she is. Seriously, Mim Malone is the highlight of this book; her voice and her personality gave this book life and I would like to applaud the author for making that happen.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Title: Mosquitoland

Author: David Arnold

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, Realistic Fiction

Goodreads link

 

2 thoughts on “Book review: Mosquitoland, by David Arnold”

Leave a Reply

