Rambling about books

Book review: Our Endless Numbered Days, by Claire Fuller

Peggy Hillcoat is eight years old when her survivalist father, James, takes her from their home in London to a remote hut in the woods and tells her that the rest of the world has been destroyed. Deep in the wilderness, Peggy and James make a life for themselves. They repair the hut, bathe in water from the river, hunt and gather food in the summers and almost starve in the harsh winters. They mark their days only by the sun and the seasons.

When Peggy finds a pair of boots in the forest and begins a search for their owner, she unwittingly begins to unravel the series of events that brought her to the woods and, in doing so, discovers the strength she needs to go back to the home and mother she thought she’d lost.

After Peggy’s return to civilization, her mother learns the truth of her escape, of what happened to James on the last night out in the woods, and of the secret that Peggy has carried with her ever since.(Goodreads synopsis)


Okay, I’m actually conflicted about where I stand with this book; there was some moments where I thought I could really like this book and then there was some moments where I felt like this book is just unbearable and I just want it to end just so I could rinse my eyes and thoughts with different stories. Basically you can already get the gist about what the book is about just  by reading the synopsis, the only left for you to know from the book is about the hows and the whys of Peggy’s dad taking her to live in the woods, and also of what had happened there. So, naturally I am holding my patience just so I can have the answer to that.

There are some aspects to the story that were somewhat predictable, not because I’m a smartypants, but because from what I can gather from the news of when a young girl is being taken away (by family member or otherwise), some sorts of harassment is to occur. Having said that, it does not mean that it’s not disturbing when it happens (spoiler alert: it’s still very disturbing when I read it happened). Here’s the thing about this book, it was interesting to see how Peggy tries to return to her old life, but it was very boring to the point that I just want to run into a forest and scream at the top of my lung when Peggy starts telling the stories of her life in the forest with her dad. It was just so exhausting reading the events unfurl, it’s like a never ending stream of words. There even more than one occasion where I just skim through the words because it was just so tiring and boring. But, I have to say that the ending shook me deep; the amount of questions left hanging, the revelation of some of my suspicions, the truth about what had happened to Peggy and what had her father did to here, boy that was too much for my fragile heart to handle. Don’t get me wrong though! Loved the ending, and the ending might be why I didn’t really go and give it a one star. I’m still wondering about the whole purpose of having Oliver Hannington in the story though, not to mention about his motives also. Was his sole purpose in the story was to be the catalysts of why the events unfurl, and nothing more?

So basically, this was such a new experience for me. I’ve never read anything around this theme ever before, so supposedly it should be enjoyable, sadly it’s not that much of an enjoyable read for me. Everything is just too slow and too stalling for my liking, and then suddenly the book picked up its pace and went on an accelerating pace, and POOF, the book ends. Well, there you have it, that’s what I think about this book; do give this book a read if you want but if you’re not sure then, I can say this much, you won’t miss that much.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️/5

Title: Our Endless Numbered Days

Author: Claire Fuller

Genre: Fiction, Mystery, Contemporary, Adult, Adventure, Thriller, Young Adult,

 

 

Leave a Reply

