Rambling about books

Book review: 1984, by George Orwell

54701
Source: https://www.goodreads.com/book/show/5470.1984

The year 1984 has come and gone, but George Orwell’s prophetic, nightmarish vision in 1949 of the world we were becoming is timelier than ever. 1984 is still the great modern classic of “negative utopia” -a startlingly original and haunting novel that creates an imaginary world that is completely convincing, from the first sentence to the last four words. 


I would like to say that I did enjoy the book, but the ending threw me off. At the end the day, all I can say is that my thoughts during the first part, the second part and the third part of the book stand on its own. Basically, you can already felt the presence of ominous things when you first read this book; having said that, I mean that the story as a whole is pretty much predictable. Event-wise, there were no such things that surprise me, not even when Mr Charrington turns out to be the Thought Police (surely by now, most people have read this book and the fact that I disclose this information should not come as a surprise anymore, right?).

Now, if it’s alright with you, I would like go on a rant about how disappointed I am with the ending. I had this discussion last night with a friend, so I’m hoping that my argument here would classified as coherent enough. I feel like the ending was shit. It made me feel like I’ve been wasting an awfully lots of time to engage with the story only to have that ending.

My problem lies in how the book was divided into three part and how, I feel like, the three parts were standing on its own, creating a different ambience separately, which I enjoyed initially. The first part of the book started off very slowly to the point that I almost gave up the whole book. At the same time, the first part was also the base for the whole entire book; it gave you this background on how Oceania is like and what have you. Without the first part, you’ll be lost throughout the entire book, so I can overlook how boring the first part was. The second part serves as the ideological background; this would explained to the reader everything they need to understand about why Oceania is always in the state of war and how basically the situation is amongst the three superstates. Now, this is my favourite part of the book, I was automatically hooked and I feel like the boring and slow first part of the book was worth it. Then comes the third part, which initially was very thought-provoking up until the part where Winston was interrogated inside the Ministry of Love, and then… BAM! It went sour and stale.

I feel like as if Orwell suddenly got bored with the story by the third part and he just wants to end it once and for all, so he can move on to another story, probably. The ending was just shit (I know, I have said that but I think it bears repeating). I feel like the point of the story was to show the reader how humans are nothing compared to the Party itself, and the book should have ended when Winston saw his true physical condition after being held up in the Ministry; how he broke down seeing that he was nothing but just a shell of what a man once was.

Apparently, looking back, I still am not coherent enough. Just to end this awful ranting, I just want to reiterate that the book is not shit or awful or anything, the book is very enjoyable and I can see why it has become a classic, but the ending is just shit man. There is a point where Orwell should have just ended the book and made it an epic ending, but it didn’t happen and I’m pretty bummed about it.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️/5

Title: 1984

Author: George Orwell

Genre: Classics, Fiction

Goodreads link

 

Leave a Reply

