things you may not want to know but i'm telling you anyway

There’s a reason why you close your books when you’re finished.

A personal rant in response to The Daily Post writing prompt, Second Time Around.

I’ve read Kafka on the Shore for more than once in my life. Although there’s nothing boring about reading a book you’ve read before, I definitely skip through several parts that I don’t like. There’s something about Kafka’s angsty teenage rebellion and struggle that speaks to me, although I read the book at probably 19 or 20 years old the first time. There’s this sadness in Nakata’s voice that reached to me and I felt like I have found a friend in his character. The book can be overly dark for some people, but behind those darkness, there’s something that tempts you to come back for  another joyride through the darkness, much like that tempting forest that Kafka went into.

To be completely honest, I would go through the book all over again from beginning to the end, only to read the last sentence of the book, which strikes me deep,

If you remember me, then I don’t care if everyone else forgets.

For my lack of better explanation, Kafka on the Shore has some sort of ambience that you will (almost, always) be tempted to go back and relive the moment again. Highly recommended!

2 thoughts on “There’s a reason why you close your books when you’re finished.”

Leave a Reply

