#FictionFriday

For today.

A work of fiction in response to The Daily Post writing prompt, Alma Mater.

Good luck? Good luck? Seriously? Who says good luck after dropping a bomb? I knew I should have just stayed home today. I knew I should have just fake some illness or something. There’s a reason I don’t keep any social media whatsoever, I want to disappear from the face of the earth. Well not literally, more like figuratively disappear from the face of the earth, and by that I mean from all my high school friends. Oh, high school, where do I start with that?

People are so excited about high school. What’s so exciting about high school? You’re not old enough to be taken seriously, and you obviously don’t want to be considered young. High school is just another type of awkward phase that I would be more than willing to fast forward to. Not that I think University was any better. Wait, where am I going with this? Okay, focus! So, by some god forsaken miracle (obviously not on my part) a high school acquaintance managed to contact me through email about our high school’s birthday or something. Long story short, this acquaintance of mine invite me for a cup of coffee. Now, normally I would never do anything like that (like going for a cup of coffee). One being I don’t drink coffee, two being I don’t go out with people I’m not close with, and three being I just don’t generally go out unless I have to. Don’t matter, point is I went out and meet her, lo and behold, she asked me (wait, scratch that, she told me) to give a speech on our high school’s birthday in front of the alma mater. You know what most people would do in that kind of situation? Some would be honoured and are excited about the prospect, some would just scream in horror and beg not to do it, or just simply flat out refuse it. But I just sit there, looking hollow, which sadly was taken as an agreement. So, here I am in front of my computer, trying to write the speech. If anything, the speech itself is already killing me slowly, the act of reading it is definitely a slow and painful stabbing to my fragile heart.

Now, where do I start?

Speech bubble vector designed by Freepik

Life? Oh, man, what is life? Life is a journey. Life is an adventure. Life is a series of choices we make. Life just sucks. Yeah, there we go. Life. Just. Sucks. Sure, life is a bit of a journey. You go through primary school all the way to adulthood, which if I’m being honest, what’s adulthood anyway? Life could also probably be an adventure. The people you meet, the story you wrote, the tears and the laughter, those are proofs of your adventure. And sure, whatever it is you’re doing now and wherever you may be, those are the results of your choices. But for me, life just sucks.Β The older I get, the harder it is to enjoy life but the closer you are to your expiration date in this world. But, hey, to each their own.

You can argue for the rest of your remaining days that life is a journey, or an adventure, or series of choices, or you could be on my camp and agree that life just sucks. But, to each their own. And that is the whole point, guys! To each their own. No one should be telling you how to live or view your life. You should be doing that yourself. I don’t even know what I’m doing here; giving you speech about the path of life. Whose life am I going to tell you about? My life? But what do you care about my life? I could be the most successful person in this room, heck, this world probably, and it still don’t matter, because it’s my life. It’s not yours, and nothing I applied in my life will work in yours. Sure, one or two would work, but whose to say that the end results are going to be the same as mine?

Look, if you want to talk about the path of life, here’s what I’m going to tell you. You were born into this world. Then you learn how to walk, talk, and function like a proper human being. Then you go to school, supposedly you’re learning all these knick knack that’s going to help you in the future. Then you go and get a job, you try to make a place for yourself in this world you’re living in, amongst the billions of other people. Then, if you’re lucky (or not, depends on how you see it), you’ll grow old and you die. Somewhere between those phases, you’ll make friends, you’ll make enemies, you fall in love, you fall out of love, you’ll get hurt, you’ll be happy, you’ll hurt someone, you’ll be someone’s reason to be happy, you’ll be everything that you didn’t plan to be but you’re that person anyway. You could be the good person, the bad person, the reliable person, the unreliable person, the diligent person, and so on and so forth.

That’s the only path of life that I know of. And that’s the only path of life that I can share with you about. What’s important is how you fill the gaps between those series of path, that’s what makes you who you are, and you can’t fill those gaps if you’re too busy looking for what others did. Make you own choices. Make your own mistakes. Make do with what you have. Live in the now. Live for today.Β 

(Pick up the glass of champagne, if there is one, if not then hopefully there’s a can of pepsi or something) For today!

But, hey, what do I know? To each their own.

2 thoughts on “For today.”

Leave a Reply

