Rambling about books

Book review: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak, by Brian Katcher

Book cover from Goodreads

It all begins when Ana Watson’s little brother, Clayton, secretly ditches the quiz bowl semifinals to go to the Washingcon sci-fi convention on what should have been a normal, résumé-building school trip.

If slacker Zak Duquette hadn’t talked up the geek fan fest so much, maybe Clayton wouldn’t have broken nearly every school rule or jeopardized Ana’s last shot at freedom from her uptight parents.

Now, teaming up with Duquette is the only way for Ana to chase down Clayton in the sea of orcs, zombies, bikini-clad princesses, Trekkies, and Smurfs. After all, one does not simply walk into Washingcon.

But in spite of Zak’s devil-may-care attitude, he has his own reasons for being as lost as Ana-and Ana may have more in common with him than she thinks. Ana and Zak certainly don’t expect the long crazy night, which begins as a nerdfighter manhunt, to transform into so much more… (Goodreads)


Oh God, when was the last time I post a book review in this blog? It felt like it’s been ages. To be completely honest, I had quite a time in my hands to just generally update this blog, but not doing book reviews. Doing book reviews, requires my most focus and undivided attention, and now that I’m back at work, time became a privilege I cannot seem to afford. But, enough of that, I am back now and I am doing this book review right now.

To be completely honest, I read this book back in early February and I can’t seem to quite remember how it felt if not for some notes I took. I remember that I had a hunch that I was going to like this book, the directness of this book made it easy to digest but does not feel like it would be a cheap book. I just like a direct YA book, straight to the point without so much as a pity party and beating around the bush about the main storyline.

What  I liked the most about this story was it went from this fluffy mild teenage stuff to a real talk slap you in the face stuff about how life sucks. And even then, it did not sound condescending, it just went straight up, “yo, life sucks.” It’s not a class A research finding to be told that life sucks, but it still is a nice feeling to read a YA and/or a coming of age book going around without so much as being pretentious about laying it out that, yeah, life sucks.

I kind of had a thought at the back of my mind that the author was picturing a movie out of this book, because, tell you what, the amount of adventures (or misadventures, depending on how you see it) never (and I mean, never) ran out. Think about it, had this book adapted to a movie, I can see myself enjoying and, possibly, growing tired of the adventures (depending on the actors who would be playing, though). Point is, the amount of adventures that both Ana and Zak go through was a nice surprise, I really didn’t expect myself to be pleasantly engage so much to the story. If ever you find yourself in the company of this book, stick around for the last part of the book. That’s the best part, at least for me. You first read the book, thinking that this was going to be a story of two teenagers coming of age, but you sure didn’t expect to have it ended with you getting slap in the face as the story unwinds and tells you how at the end of the day life just sucks, how no matter how hard you work, you can always be miserable. Tell you what, I’ll be 28 this year, and having read a YA book and stumble upon this gem inside it was a pleasant surprise and an eye-opening experience for sure. At the end of day, life is just as simple as, you’re in or you’re out.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️☆

Title: The Improbable Theory of Ana and Zak

Author: Brian Katcher

Genre: Young Adult, Contemporary, Fiction

Goodreads link

 

 

Leave a Reply

