things you may not want to know but i'm telling you anyway

a glass half empty

“Is this glass half empty or half full?”

“What do I care? It has water and I’m thirsty so I’m going to drink it.”

“You can’t. You’re fasting.”

“Well don’t be talking about water in a glass then.”

“I’m just trying to figure out whether or not you’re an optimist or a pessimist.”

“And what use that information will do for you? Huh?”

“I don’t know. I just want to know.”

“Yeah, but think about it. How does one concludes that a certain someone is an optimist or a pessimist just from answering whether or not a certain glass is half full or half empty for that person? If you ask me now, I would say that the glass is half empty, because I’m thirsty. That answer will be followed by questions like, where’s the rest of the water. Or questions like, why aren’t you giving me more water? And, say, you asked me this question after I had a big meal or after I had my ifthar, I would say it’s half full, followed by disgusted look because I feel bloated from all my meal. See how questions like that don’t really best explain your personality? You got to have more insights.”

“Well, solid proof argument, but how do you explain why people still use that question as the base of whether or not someone is an optimist or not?”

“How would I know? I’m not one of those peoples, aren’t I? Besides, I don’t think there’s an actual human being who are constantly an optimist or constantly a pessimist. Granted that I have not yet many people in my life, but surely there couldn’t be one person who is 100% percent something, right? But, even if there is, the question is, so what? Take me, for example, without that ridiculous glass question, I think I’m more of a pessimist than I’m an optimist. Then, what to do about that? Nothing, right?”

“But, don’t you think being an optimist would be better?”

“Says who? Based on what? Is this coming from the same group of people who says that being an extrovert is better than being an introvert? Says who? Says the extrovert themselves! Humans are wired uniquely. You can’t have all extroverts, much like you can’t have all people to be optimists, or vice versa. I’m not saying the other is better or any less than the other one; I’m just against the other forcing the other one to be like them with the argument that the other is better and much more preferable and acceptable within society’s borders. Do you know what I mean?”

“I guess so. So, basically you just want everybody to be left to their own devices?”

“Well, not like that. More like, let other people be who they really are. It’s not like all pessimists and/or introverts are psychopaths.”

“I’m getting the feeling that my trivial question has taken a dark turn. You’re obviously pissed right now, right?”

“Don’t ask questions you’re already know the answer to, unless you’re looking for an obnoxious answer from me.”

A conversation with oneself in response to The Daily Post writing prompt, Empty.

 

Leave a Reply

