things you may not want to know but i'm telling you anyway

home alone, work, and an eunuch.

You may have read a lot about my cat, Elvis (the Queen of NOPE). If you are for some reasons have followed or accidentally stumble upon my Instagram (click here to go straight to my Instagram, #ShamelessPromotion), you might have noticed that I have been posting quite frequently of Elvis. Now, what you might not be very familiar with is with my other cat, Joplin. Joplin is Elvis’ son, he’s seven years old, and he’s afraid of rain. Now, what does that have to do with what had happened this week? Quite a lot, so bear with me.

I don’t know how many people actually took the time to read my rambling on this blog, but if you do, bless your dear heart. Anyway, I have been holding the fort for a week with my Aunt away on a trip across Central Java. I love every minute that I spent being home alone. No, I did not do any of the crazy stunts that Kevin did in both series of Home Alone (and if you don’t know which Kevin I’m referring here, it’s safe to say you’re way too young), but it was still fun. Sure, at some point I felt like the whole adulting business is a bit too much for me, because I really can’t go anywhere after work. I had to go straight home, close all the windows, close the curtains, turn on all the lights and just generally making sure that I locked everything. One time I had to work late, and I came home at about 19.30-ish and my house looks pretty much deserted with it being the only house with no lights. My verdict on being home alone? Something I would do again, but maybe not while I have to go to work.

Oh speaking of work, I really don’t want to go there (but I’m going to anyway). First, I met this really annoying lady who basically was sent to this earth only to blame and point her chubby fingers at people and act like she knows everything. And when I tried to correct her, she was quick to blame me for trying to evade my job. That lady had some nerve to accuse of evading work when all she did from the very beginning of our encounter was exactly just that (that being evading work).

Second, I got kicked off from this project that I’ve been dying to be a part of. All my life working here (here being the office where I worked but I’m going to be super vague about it), I have never want anything so badly except for this one particular project. I’d shown how hard working I can be, all in the name to be part of this project. One day, I got called and was informed that I was no longer part of the project. Wanna know the reason? Simply put, because I’m a girl and there won’t be any other female counterpart for me to work with. Great! Because that reason just made perfect sense…. except that it’s NOT! I call bull on that, because last year on the same project, a female worker was in the project with no female counterpart for her to work with too. So, yeah, I’m just angry and bitter and whatever.

Third, not only that I got kicked off the project being the sole reason I really don’t want to get back to work now; for some reason, I still have to be part of the project, meaning I’m still preparing shit and all. Okay, I’m not going but I’m still going to be tortured with the preparation? And those who are actually going will do nothing, because I single handedly done most of it? Yeah, sounds about right except that it’s NOT. Comes Monday, I will have a say on this.

Okay, enough of work talk. Tomorrow is Monday, there will be plenty of more things for me to rant about. And now, the story of Joplin.

I’m suppose to go to my parents’ house on Friday, but I was working late on Friday and I was tired and I really don’t have the will nor the energy to battle traffic on a Friday night. So, at 8.15 on a nice Saturday morning I went to my parents’ house. Arrived at 8.40 and had a hearty breakfast. At 10-ish I went to bring Joplin to the clinic to have him neutered. I was a total wreck. I really don’t know what to do. Everything I know about neutering a cat comes from the internet and my brief discussion with Elvis’ vet. Anyway, I was told to pick him up at 18.00; so I went back home to pick my Mum up and we’re going to go to my Aunt’s house (fyi, I was in my Aunt’s house that morning before I was at my parents’ house, so you are now beginning to see how long and ridiculous my Saturday is).

Oh well, traffic jam break loose! It took me about 2 hours to arrived back at my Aunt’s place and when I was there my friend was already waiting for me. So, we didn’t stick around for too long and when straight to meet our other friends. Bla bla bla (really, you really don’t want to know what we talked about), TLDR: I got a phone call from my Mum saying that she’ll pick me up at 17.00 and we’re going to pick Joplin and then we’re going to go to the house of my other Aunt (fyi, her house is outside of the city where we live) because there was some MAJOR family issue. I was bummed. I was in the middle of meeting my friends and all but whatever.

Okay, so I picked Joplin and he was still doozy from the anaesthetic. My heart was broken. Joplin was a quiet cat, sometimes I think that he’s an introvert. He’s used to being alone, but to see him all doozy and woozy still pains me. I was given a prescription for Joplin for the next five days, but because we’re in a hurry to go to my other Aunt’s, I was told to buy the meds tomorrow (Joplin was already given the meds by the vet for Saturday). When we arrived home, I couldn’t move Joplin from his carrier to his cage (I had to separate him from Elvis for awhile lest Elvis is being obnoxious to Joplin, also I might put his meds in his food so they shouldn’t be sharing plates of food anyway) because he was still doozy, but my Dad was already saying that we should go (it was already 20.00-ish and we are technically suppose to be there at 19.00). I asked people at home to keep an eye on Joplin and then gave him dinner whilst also not forgetting to move him to his cage when he’s sober up. In all technicality, it was not too much to ask, is it? Joplin was not a difficult cat anyway, it was easy to handle him, much more easy than Elvis actually.

Bla bla bla (you really don’t want to know what the family issue is, let’s just say it had something to do with marriage), TLDR: we came back at 01.00. Okay, seeing that I left Joplin at home at 20.00-ish and I came back home at 01.00 (I am fully knackered at that point, all I want was a nice bed, really), it means that I have left Joplin about five hours or so. Get this, in those 5 hours, Joplin was still in his carrier the whole time!!!!! Do you know what that means? Here, let me break it down to you; one, he was locked in his carrier for 5 hours! Two, he was not fed for five hours (which means he had not eaten for almost a whole entire day seeing that he must go on a fast before being neutered). Three, his fur was matted by pee because he had to pee but he has no fingers to let himself out of his carrier because he is a cat and he is not a human being!

I WAS FURIOUS!!! FURIOUS!!!! FU-RI-OUS!!!

Not at Joplin, but at people that I have specifically asked to keep an eye on Joplin. That was all I asked. One, keep an eye on Joplin. Two, let himself out when he’s sober up and put him in his cage. Three, gave him dinner. Really. That’s all I asked. Was that hard? How could someone do something mean like that to Joplin?? He’s just been neutered. He was doozy, and then he woke up to being locked in a carrier, dying for food and pee and he can’t have neither of those two! If that is not mean, then I don’t know what else.

So, I did it all, which I don’t mind doing it in the first place if I don’t have to go to my Aunt’s place. Joplin looked so weak. He was hungry and tired.

Comes Sunday morning, I bought Joplin’s prescription. Here’s where the problem is. Feeding capsules to Elvis is somewhat easy, because you just have to hide the said capsule in her food and she’ll eat it. And she eats all the time. But, with Joplin it’s a bit different. He’s not a big eater like Elvis, so putting his capsule in his food risked the fact that he won’t be getting his meds on the scheduled time. Thankfully, it was easy to pry open his mouth and insert the capsule (I swear it’s really hard to touch let alone prying open Elvis’ mouth). Applying the ointment on where Joplin just got neutered was also easy. He was very calm and even when he didn’t like being fed his meds, he won’t attack or get all aggressive on you (which breaks my heart even more seeing him in the corner because he hates his meds).

Now, you may think that’s the end of the story, but it’s not. Why? Because who’s going to have all the time in the world to coax and pry open Joplin’s mouth to feed his med? Who’s going to kneel around his testicle to apply the ointment? I do! I would! If I don’t have to go to work. If I live with Elvis and Joplin on weekdays. But, see, I don’t live with them on weekdays, I only get to see them every weekends and day off, because it is impossible for them to live with me in my Aunt’s house and it is impossible for me to live with my parents (where Elvis and Joplin also resides) because my office is too damn far.

At that point I am panicking as to who’s going to take care of Joplin. He just got neutered, he needs the proper attention. Call me irresponsible. Call me a meanie. Call me a traitor to my best friends. But, desperate time calls for desperate measures. And people make sacrifices all the time, for the greater good. And maybe I am just looking for a justification for what I did. Whatever it is, I did what I did out of love.

I called the clinic and asked them if it was possible for Joplin to stay there for a week. I informed them again of his condition and how he needs special attention because he needs his meds twice a day. I also told them about Joplin who doesn’t like being around strangers and how he might lose his appetite because of that. I asked them to give double that care that they gave to other patients for Joplin. Thankfully, the clinic does not mind; they said I can drop Joplin off and fill the form and fulfil the necessary administrative arrangements.

TLDR: tonight Joplin will be spending his first night away from home, Elvis will be spending her first night alone without her son in seven years, I will not be having a good night sleep or a calming week until I know that Joplin is well again. I will not be calm for next week until I see and pick Joplin again. Until then, just like I beg for your prayer for Elvis when she was sick, I beg for your prayer again for Joplin to return to his former self. Much love. Ciao!

Leave a Reply

