Rambling about books

Book review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone, by J. K. Rowling

Book cover from Goodreads

I once told a friend that I was going to give the Harry Potter series a chance if ever I could find the UK published book (it was actually a lie, because I knew it was more likely that I would never found one, where I live at least), just to get away from actually having to read the series. I’ve watched the whole movie to know enough that I could never enjoy reading the book, not even with promises like, “oh, but the book is different”, “the book is even better than the movie”, “there are a lot of stuff that the movie didn’t cover from the books”, but none intrigue me the most than when a friend told me, “book Ron is hella better than movie Ron, I mean movie Ron is alright, but book Ron is better, you’d like him more.” TLDR; when I saw the UK published of this new edition, I thought the stars have aligned itself to tell me to read the book! Well, there goes nothing, right?


Oh dear Lord. Time and time again, I kept asking myself, how in the world had I voluntarily passed up the opportunity to read this book when my fellow friends read this book before? This is a solid book (I meant this both as a figurative and literal way). While I was on my way home from work (might I add, whilst I was reading Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets), I thought of the best way to describe this book; this is a no-nonsense kind of book. It’s completely straight to what it wants to tell, but never once did it lose its charm.

Trust me when I say that this is a compliment. Why? Let me tell you a story. Before I read Chamber of Secrets, I had tried (my best, might I add) to read Life and Death (that Twilight re-imagined book) by Stephenie Meyer. Why, you asked? For a laugh. It was like a horrible fanfic, from what I can gather by the reviews that people have made, and I thought why the heck not? Well, let’s just say on my 148th page, I realised that the book was 671 pages long (I’m reading the ebook), and it was nowhere near the actual story that it wants to tell. It was a glorious (and I use this term lightly) 100 or so pages of a whiny 17 year old guy,  and I just couldn’t take it anymore that I gave up the book entirely and went to Chamber of Secrets. And that, my friend, how I realised the precious thing about Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (and Chamber of Secrets, because I’ve only read the two, as of today), it is very fast-paced, directly to the point, no wasted words and pages, but never (not even once) was boring for the reader (at least to me).

Okay, that horrible experience with Life and Death apart, I am going to go back to praising this book. It is incredibly charming without having to put a charm spell on itself. How could it not? Magic? School for Wizards in training? Sorting hat that sort you to houses that are extremely cool in each own way? Quidditch? I know, man, I could just go on and on and on about how awesome this book is. But, I’m going to choose one thing to drone about. Ron Weasley!

My friend was right, book Ron was better. Get this, movie Ron was alright, but book Ron was definitely tight and better. He’s a great friend to Harry, he was sarcastic and oddly charming. And, get this, he was the best chess player that Hogwarts had ever seen. I know this was in the movie, but I feel like reading it in words, I was more proud with Ron than when I saw it in the movie. Sure, Ron is still somewhat unconfident at times, but book Ron handled that pretty well.

Oh man, I don’t know what to tell you, but I just love this book and I think I’m going to like the whole series. We’ll see about that.


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️☆

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

Goodreads link

Leave a Reply

