Rambling about books

Book review: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets, by J. K. Rowling

Book cover from Goodreads

One question before I start, when it comes to books that are as famous and widely known like the Harry Potter series, should I still be doing the synopsis of the story? Practically, anybody who is anybody have heard of the book, right? Therefore, if I attempt to be telling the synopsis would be a complete waste of time, right? Or, probably I’m just incredibly lazy.

That aside, I have to tell you that The Chamber of Secrets was, for some odd reason, my favourite amongst the entire series, movie-wise, at least. I’m curious whether or not I would like the book. To be completely honest, the book was incredibly infuriating, to say the least. Even from the very beginning, it was already causing my anger to rise, it gets even worse as the story progresses. I’m not saying the story is bad, if anything it is very well written to the point that I’m beyond furious at the turn of events. I don’t know if that made sense, by any stories that can cause me to be angry enough that I refuse to read in order to contain my emotion, or the kind that cause me to bawl up in tears, then those are definitely the best stories. I guess, I don’t quite explain it very well, do I?


Okay, here I will give my best attempt in ranting about this book. First off, I have to admit that Book Harry is definitely better than Movie Harry (much like my previous assessment of Ron on the previous book), but that is not to say that the original casts of the movie were not portraying the characters badly, it’s just my opinion. Besides, I’m not here to compare between the book and movie. As I have mentioned before, the Chamber of Secrets is definitely infuriating, what with Dobby’s cryptic message, Harry’s “incredible” summer experience, and don’t get me started with Gilderoy Lockhart (UGH!), but nothing I can handle, because I can feel the shifting of the story compared to the first book.

Chamber of Secrets has step up its game in terms of being creepy compared to the Philosopher’s Stone, in terms of Harry’s encounter with Voldemort/You-Know-Who/Tom Riddle/or whatever aliases he seems fit to call himself. Sure, creepy Voldemort attached to back of Quirrell’s head was once the fruit of my nightmare, but Harry finally meeting face to face with Tom Riddle (albeit, a memory of who he once was) cemented the real and imminent danger of Voldemort, so guess that’s why I like Chamber of Secrets.

I have to admit that after reading the book, the Chamber of Secrets in the movie is not quite like how I had imagined it from reading the book. Again, just an observation, I still think the movie did a good job, because looking back at the first time I watched, I knew that it was not a place I would rather be.

All in all, I have to say Chamber of Secrets was my favourite book in the series (so far, seeing that I’ve only read two of them, so I don’t have much to compare it to), and now I’ll have to see myself getting the next book. In the meantime, I have read two books after finishing this book, but because I’m a such a lazy bum, I never did this post in it proper time, but whatever, right?


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

Title: Harry Potter and the Chamber of Secrets

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Adventure, Children’s, Fantasy, Fiction, Young Adult

Goodreads link

Leave a Reply

