Rambling about books

Book review: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch, by Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Book cover from Goodreads

Put it simply, this is a story about the world coming to its end and how a Demon and an Angel trying to make sure that it didn’t happened. Why? Because, apparently both have grown accustomed to living amongst humans on earth. Problem is, it seems that someone has misplaced the Antichrist, and both Demon and Angel is racing against time to locate where the Antichrist is while making sure they can stop the Rapture from happening. Sounds interesting?


Okay, I don’t know how helpful my descriptions are about this book, but that was actually the best I can do without giving away too much about the story. Although, to be completely honest, I don’t think this is the kind of book where its story would have some dramatic turn of events or incredible surprising plot twist. I think the main point was to question us about the nature of good and evil (or I’m just being a snob and am reading way too much between the lines?)

Be that as it may, I did feel that the the ‘discussions’ (the term is definitely used very lightly) between Crowley and Aziraphale were definitely the highlight of the story. The ongoing debates of good and evil are definitely so old and yet it seems that it is not going to end anytime soon, and in this book, you get to see a Demon and Angel discuss about the ineffable nature of things. On that note, I remember back in High School, I read this book (which I completely forgot what the title was) about a Demon questioning God. The Demon asked why he/she was forsaken from heaven when it is clear that he/she is more devout than human and bla bla bla (completely forgot the details, but basically it questions the nature of evil and demon being somewhat the accessory to evil deeds), and anyway, Crowley and Aziraphale’s discussions reminded of that particular book (I’ll make it my mission to try and remember the title, see if I can find the book also).

Okay, apart from the very interesting ‘discussions’, I have to say that all in all this book very elusive. In most part I lost the cultural references made in the book, which could have made the book even more interesting because let’s be clear here, the story was published in 1990, set in the UK so however could I have understood the references being that I was only 2 years old back in 1990 and obviously I did not live in the UK. So, yeah, there were times where sort of go like, “wait, what?” because I honestly am legit lost in references being made. But, all in all I don’t think it affects how I enjoyed the story, so no worries for those interested in reading this book. Why? Because it is still intriguing as ever (look for ‘discussions’ for reasons why I think the story is intriguing).

I know that I have mentioned about Crowley and Aziraphale quite a number of times, and believe me, if you ever read this book, you would be obsessed with those two. Their personalities alone are just interesting, and combined with their odd interactions made it even more fun to root for their quest in locating where the Antichrist was. Most if not all the characters were not bad either, I think coming close to Crowley and Aziraphale as my favourite characters would the Four Horsemen, as for the characters that I quite not like would be Shadwell. A bit of a nutcase, I think.

So, hmm, how do I wrap this up? I think I’m meant to say that I did quite enjoy this book, the story, the characters, and the world within the story. Although that being said, I think I might need to explain why, despite my love of Crowley and Aziraphale, I gave the book only three stars. See, I did enjoy the book, quite very much. But then the anticlimactic ending happened and it was just bland and meh and I was just sort of bummed about how such an interesting story ended up just like that. Oh, not to mention, the incredibly slow plot. Good Lord, I remember I kept on asking myself when is this story getting to the good part. And when it does, next thing you know, the story ends. Well, thank you very much (NOT).


Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️☆☆

Title: Good Omens: The Nice and Accurate Prophecies of Agnes Nutter, Witch

Author(s): Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett

Genre: Fantasy, Fiction, Humour

Goodreads link

Leave a Reply

