#RetrospectSeries

January: in retrospect

Yikes! We’re already one month into January. It’s crazy, if you ask me. A lot of things have happened in just the span of 31 days; from the inauguration of Trump, the executive order he signed, the uproar that resulted from it all across the globe, down to Jakarta’s Gubernatorial Election that’s heating up as we go along. Makes you wonder what else is in store from 2017 if 31 days into 2017 and we’ve already have so much happening.

January 2017 for me is more about changes; a lot is going to change, if not already changing as I speak type. I’ve been married for a month and so far it’s been alright, but the backlash I’m getting for not yet procreating another human being is just too much to handle. Like, I don’t know how I could stress it enough that procreating is not high on my priorities’ list. From countless of comments about my weight, “Oh you look fat, are you carrying?”

Yes! I’m carrying happiness, fat, unresolved anger, and I just had a big lunch.

To the most bizarre one, like being mistaken for getting pregnant when clearly I had a bad case of diarrhoea, bacterial infection on me tummy and a significant rise of my gastric acid. I was constantly shitting my arse out and me mum thought I was pregnant. I was battling with severe tummy ache due to the rise of my gastric acid and bacterial infection, she was sure that that was the divine message that I was pregnant. Well, mum, sorry to be bursting your bubble, but I ain’t preggers.

Aside from the change in people’s attitude about me being married therefore I would automatically procreate resulting in others annoy the living peace out of me by constantly nagging about the lack of baby bump in me tummy, apart from the usual belly fat, married life pretty much is the same as usual.

But, ’tis is not the end for more changes are coming my way!

If everything goes according to plan, RAM and I probably will be leaving for Abuja, Nigeria, by next week. I’m going to stay there for a month whilst RAM will stay there for the next two years. More often than not, people have come up to me and said  that the fact RAM will be halfway across the world will bring a significant shift on our relationship. As much I would like to appreciate people’s concern (or their tendency to just butt in on my personal affair), that’s just a load of crap. And even if it will bring a significant shift to our relationship, please refrain yourself from giving unsolicited advice and/or comment.

Wait! Wait! One last change!

Now, obviously I really don’t want to jinx myself but if everything goes according to plan (again), I hope that either by the second or third semester of 2017, I will embark on a new adventure of me own. I’m going to be super vague about it not without reason, but because I’m superstitious in a way that I feel if I say it in words about the things I want the most I would be tempting the fate and messing about with the natural order of things, resulting in me jinxing myself; so bear with me and pretend like you know what I mean about this so-called adventure.

But, how about work? No complaint?

Well, work is work. It has been alright so far, pretty tame if I’m being honest. It’s still a chore, but that’s why it’s called work instead of napping, right?

cheers-dilchh

2 thoughts on “January: in retrospect”

Leave a Reply

