Book review: The Rest of Us Just Live Here, by Patrick Ness

What if you aren’t the Chosen One?

The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life.

Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions… Goodreads.

The mistake of every young person is to think they’re the only ones who see darkness and hardship in the world. The mistake of every adult, though, is to think darkness and hardship aren’t important to young people because we’ll grow out of it. Who cares if we will? Life is happening to us now, just like it’s happening to you.

I’ve been seeing this book around for quite some time and honestly with this very interesting colour scheme for its cover, how could I not be interested? I love the interesting combination of the dark and light colour scheme and top it all with a very interesting premise, after being bombarded by typical “chosen one” premise, this book surely will be a fresh breath of air, right? But, is it, though?

You’ve got your Katniss, your Tris, and countless of other chosen one heroines/heroes to last a lifetime (probably), and whilst it is interesting to read the struggles and the challenges of our chosen one, sometime you wonder what it would be like to be those living on the sidelines, right? What it would be like to be Primrose, or some random ass people living on the outskirts of all the interesting events happening in the story? Oh, you don’t? Well neither do I, well until I read the premise of this book.

I was very excited upon finding this book, I was curious about the take on those who are not the chosen one. And to be honest, it was interesting, to some extent. It was interesting and enjoyable until I realised that Mikey is a constant complainer and I lost count at how many times I’ve rolled my eyes out of boredom.

I would like to be less judgemental and mean towards the book, because I still maintain my opinion about the interesting premise but after awhile this just feels like a whole book of teenagers complaining. Ugh! I don’t mean to take lightly what sort of depression or mental illness that Mickey is going through, it’s just I feel like I’ve waste a good portion of my two days reading about nothing. As the story ends, I can’t help but wonder what was the whole entire story about.

Boring and redundant.

Apart from the interesting premise, there was nothing else that interests me about this book. I was lead to believe this book was about those who are not the chosen ones, but I ended up getting a story about  something that just goes round and round and round over the same thing over and over again. Sorry, not my cup of tea.

Ugh!

I know I’ve complained about Mickey and his constant complaining, but it’s nothing compared to how done I am with Henna. Henna, as a character, is really annoying. She’s your typical run of the mill character, the gorgeous girl who happens to be the love interest of our main character, that vaguely aware at the crush that our main character is harbouring towards her and eventually exploit that feeling for her personal gain. Oh, you think I’m wrong? Hmm, the tagging bridge thing? Yeah, way to go in guilt tripping Mickey, Henna. And the “kiss-in-the-name-of-exploration” thing? Really? Oh and that secret thing about Nathan that you, for reasons I could not fathom, kept from Mickey and then to drop it like it’s not a big thing even though you knew Mickey likes you? Yeah, bye Henna.

I kind of felt sorry for hating on Henna, big time, like this; especially when I knew that the name Henna (along with the surname, which I could not spell without looking at how the name was spelled in the book, but let’s be honest I’m too lazy to find it) was taken from a real life person. Someone who actually donate money for a cause that the author chose, and as a token of appreciation the author chooses to use the name Henna for one of his character. But, I’m sure the real Henna would not be pissed, because I’m hating on the book-Henna.

Uh oh, nuh uh.

If you’re still interested in reading due to the interesting premise, well, read it on your own risk. I’ve warned you.

Title: The Rest of Us Just Live Here

Author: Patrick Ness

Genre: Young adult, Contemporary, Fiction, Fantasy, Romance

⭐️⭐️⭐️☆☆

Goodreads link

Leave a Reply

