Rambling about books

Book review: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (20th Anniversary Edition), by J. K. Rowling

Celebrate 20 years of Harry Potter magic with four special editions of Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Gryffindor, Slytherin, Hufflepuff, Ravenclaw …

Twenty years ago these magical words and many more flowed from a young writer’s pen, an orphan called Harry Potter was freed from the cupboard under the stairs – and a global phenomenon started. Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone has been read and loved by every new generation since. To mark the 20th anniversary of first publication, Bloomsbury is publishing four House Editions of J.K. Rowling’s modern classic. These stunning editions will each feature the individual house crest on the jacket and sprayed edges in the house colours. Exciting new extra content will include fact files, profiles of favourite characters and line illustrations exclusive to that house. Goodreads.

Book cover from Goodreads

I can teach you how to bottle fame, brew glory, even stopper death – if you aren’t as big a bunch of dunderheads as I usually have to teach.

I only start reading Harry Potter in 2016, and it was only because Bloomsbury had published a new cover edition of the series, and I made a promise to a friend that I was going to read Harry Potter if I can the Bloomsbury publication of the books. I was hook, line, and sinker with the series (not in a bad way, of course). On my defence, I was already hooked with the series thanks to watching the whole movie, but I guess my friend was right, the book will be different and magical. Ergo, when the 20th anniversary edition came out with the Slytherin crest on its cover (to be fair, there were also the ones with Ravenclaw, Hufflepuff, and Gryffindor on it), as a fellow Slytherin and to show my Slytherin pride, I bought it and worship the box it came with one month after I ordered it.

To be fair, I didn’t really re-read the book from the beginning to the end. I figured if I was going to the whole re-reading experience, I should wait a couple of more years to see if my outlook on the book changed or not. What I did then was only to read the additional contents, such as the info on everything Slytherin, from its founder to its most famous member of the house.

So is it cheating to be reviewing a book when you don’t read the whole of it?

IMHO, it depends. Here’s my full disclosure on reviewing this particular edition of the book, I will be only reviewing the additional contents and the value for money on buying this particular 20th anniversary edition (especially when you already have the same book, noted the new cover edition nonetheless). So, I’m not cheating, right?

Or am I? 😏

Okay, the additional contents; hmm I don’t necessarily think there was anything interesting about it, seeing that some of the things mentioned in the additional contents were things that I’m pretty sure you’ve read somewhere (especially if you’re an avid fan of the series). So, was it not worth the buy, then? No, no. I genuinely think it was a worth the buy (especially the one month wait), because the feeling of holding and touching this book with its magnificent Slytherin crest on the cover was just beyond any words I can use to describe it. Oh, for the record, I bought the hardcover version, the price wasn’t that much of a different with the paperback, so why not upgrade a bit, yeah?

The best part of this edition? When you look at the book from the side, the pages are the colour of the Slytherin house, silver and green! I Seriously, I am having too much time exuding my Slytherin pride! I am thinking of taking a photoshoot of the book, the ID card case, the pouch, the earphone case, and the bookmark, all has the Slytherin crest on it; alas that must wait for I have to start packing. On that note, let’s all got sad because I am moving away in six days!!!!!!

YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAASSSSSSSSSSSSSSSS….

Do I even need to explain why?

Show your Slytherin pride, fam!

Title: Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone (20th Anniversary Edition)

Author: J. K. Rowling

Genre: Adventure, Children’s book, Fantasy, Fiction, Young adult

⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️☆

Goodreads link

Leave a Reply

