Rambling about books

Book review: What Would Cleopatra Do? by Elizabeth Foley

Book cover from Goodreads

Rating: ⭐️⭐️☆☆☆

Title: What Would Cleopatra Do?: Life Lessons from 50 of History’s Most Extraordinary Women

Author: Elizabeth Foley

Genre: History, Nonfiction, Biography

Goodreads link

I wished I could say something nice before saying I don’t quite enjoy this book. To be fair, I did start this book knowing full well I wasn’t going to enjoy it; so this book stand no chance, I guess.

I got this book from a book fair; a place where one could potentially buy any book for the sake of buying one because yo’re already in a book fair, and it would be such a waste if you came out from a book fair without buying one .. or more. On a regular day at a bookstore, fat chance I would ever picked this book.

Why?

For the simple reason that the title (and the subtitle) oversells the content of the book. Besides, what were you expecting from a book worth 300-ish pages but promised a biography of 50 women? Yeah, you’re not gonna get much. Having said that, it’s not the book’s fault.

It did however would work a starting point if you’re always looking for ideas on whose biographies you should read about; take your pick from the women mentioned in this book.

But yeah, I still don’t quite enjoy the book.

Taken from Goodreads

The Woeful Second World War presents the dire details of a war that affected almost everyone – from old men joining the Dad’s Army to the 12 year olds defending Berlin to the bitter end. Find out who made a meal of maggots, or which soldiers were so smelly their enemies could sniff them out.

Nope. Sorry, but I really didn’t quite enjoy it, I  didn’t even actually finished it.

Just finished the Eid Al Fitr holiday and will be going back to work tomorrow. What a shame.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.