Rambling about books

Book review: Talking to Strangers, by Malcolm Gladwell

Book cover from Goodreads

Rating: ⭐️⭐️⭐️☆☆

Title: Talking to Strangers: What We Should Know About the People We Don’t Know

Author: Malcolm Gladwell

Genre: Nonfiction, Psychology, Sociology

Goodreads link

It started off really well, like it could be very interesting. It made, what I feel like, a complicated topic can be easily understood. Unfortunately, as more chapters went by and we’re nearing the end of the book, it became apparent that the author tend to oversimplify several points and issues into merely “it’s because we don’t know enough of other people.”

I wished I could like this book more, but after that realisation of the oversimplification of things, in what I presume, as an effort to make the book easier to digest by evryone, I just couldn’t take it seriously anymore and then it became a chore just to be able to finish the book altogether.

Honesly no. Whilst this is can be easily enjoyed by almost everyone, I wouldn’t want go on any record as a recommendation.

Quick life update! Even though I read this back in 2022 and only got around to sharing my very lazy and short review in October 2023 (more than a year later), much has happened since then. I am now currently living in Shanghai, China. I’ve been here for a month actually. How’s it going so far? Gee, I’m going to ask myself that again in two months time.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.